Support Us Button Widget

Where to watch an outdoor movie in Columbus

Find a variety of local businesses hosting outdoor movie screenings in Columbus, OH, ranging from free films to ticketed events.

CBUStoday Columbus Commons movies.png

This year’s movie lineup at the Columbus Commons was decided by a community vote on Instagram. | Photo via Columbus Commons

Table of Contents

It’s almost outdoor movie season, so consider this the previews.

Leave the glow of your living room, and bask in the night sky at these must-try outdoor movie screenings. Plus, stay tuned for more announcements throughout the season from other popular spots.

Movie Nights | Columbus Commons, 160 S. High St.

CBUStoday Columbus Commons Movie Nights

Extra blankets are a must for outdoor movies when temperatures become chilled. | Photo via @columbuscommons

The Columbus Commons has it all this season — including free screenings of family-friendly movies. They’ve also planned special days before screenings, so plan your trips accordingly. Lawn chairs and blankets are welcome + popcorn is available while supplies last.

  • “Encanto” | Saturday, May 25 | Stop by early for Family Fun Day from 4-8 p.m. prior to the film.
  • “The Secret Life of Pets” | Friday, June 21 | Picnic with the Pops will take place before so you’ll have to wait until it ends then you can find a seat.
  • “Ratatouille” | Friday, July 12 | Just like June’s screening, Picnic with the Pops is happening on this date.
  • “Coco” | Saturday, Sept. 7 | This is the final installment of the season.

Stay tuned for more, including a new sunset series that will start in September. A full lineup is coming soon.

Screen On The Green | Goodale Park, 120 W. Goodale Blvd.

CBUStoday Screen On The Green

If you plan on going to multiple screenings at Goodale Park, consider a bag chair. Your back will thank you later. | Photo via Short North Civic Association

Prepare for box office smash hits this summer at the park with this monthly screening hosted by the Short North Civic Association. All films are free to watch and begin around sunset. Lawn chairs and blankets are allowed, and screenings take place in the softball field in the southwest corner of the park.

Drive-in Theater | The South Drive-in Theatre, 3050 S. High St.

CBUStoday South Drive-In Theatre

The Drive-In offers radio stations or clippable speakers to play audio inside your car. | Photo via WBNS-10TV

This drive-in is now open and keeping nostalgia alive. It’s known for its two projector screens that play newly released movies in a double feature format. Check out the website to see what will be screened on the weekend, such as “Late Night with the Devil” or “Civil War.” Concession stands are available with soda, candy, and popcorn.

Movie Nights | Topiary Park, 480 E. Town St.

CBUStoday Topiary Park 1.png

Topiary Park could be your backdrop for multiple months of movie screenings this year. | Photo via Topiary Park

Topiary Park is back with its span of free movies from May through October, and this year is getting more interactive. Before each screening, guests are invited to compete in themed pop culture trivia + grab food from a revolving door of food trucks. A full lineup is coming soon, and the first installment begins on Friday, May 24 at 8 p.m.

  • Friday, June 28 | 8 p.m.
  • Friday, July 26 | 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Aug. 23 | 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 27 | 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 25 | 8 p.m.

NightLight 614 | Genoa Park, 303 W. Broad St.

Tickets to NL614’s Deadpool on Thurs., July 7 are still available | Photo by CBUStoday

Season passes sold out, but individual tickets are still available to Nightlight 614. | Photo by CBUStoday

This multi-week summer event is a must-try if you ask City Editor Mitch. Each installment features a hit movie, a local brewery, and a plethora of popular food trucks. Here are the important dates to keep in mind.

  • “Bad Boys” | Thursdsay, July 11
  • “Knives Out” | Thursday, July 25
  • “Bridesmaids” | Thursday, Aug. 1
  • “Fight Club” | Thursday, Aug. 22

Plus, another round of individual tickets will go on sale on Tuesday, July 16 at 7 p.m. for the following flicks:

  • “Dodgeball” | Thursday, Sept. 5
  • “The Princess Diaries” | Thursday, Sept. 12
  • “Good Will Hunting” | Thursday, Sept. 26
  • “Zombieland” | Wednesday, Oct. 9
  • “Jennifer’s Body” | Thursday, Oct. 10
  • “The Shining” | Friday, Oct. 11

Trivia and a Movie | Land-Grant Brewing Co., 424 W. Town St.

CBUStoday Land Grant movies.png

Land-Grant also hosts a movie series in the summertime. | Photo via Land-Grant Brewing Co.

Stop in the brewery prior to the movie to participate in pop culture trivia, which begins at 6:30 p.m. Then you can enjoy a feature film inside the beer garden.

  • “Star Wars: A New Hope” | Tuesday, May 14
  • “Star Wars: Empire Strikes Back” | Tuesday, May 21
  • “Star Wars: Return of the Jedi” | Tuesday, May 28
  • “Happy Gilmore” | Tuesday, June 4
  • “Twister” | Tuesday, June 11
  • “Anchorman” | Tuesday, June 18
  • “Shrek” | Tuesday, June 25
  • “Jaws” | Tuesday, July 2
  • “Step Brothers” | Tuesday, July 9
  • “National Treasure” | Tuesday, July 16
  • “Office Space” | Tuesday, July 23
  • “Life Aquatic” | Tuesday, July 30
  • “Legally Blonde” | Tuesdsay, Aug. 6
  • “10 Things I Hate About You” | Tuesday, Aug. 13
  • “Almost Famous” | Tuesday, Aug. 20
  • “Walk Hard” | Tuesday, Aug. 27
  • “Clueless” | Tuesday, Sept. 3
  • “Jurassic Park” | Tuesday, Sept. 10
  • “Freaky Friday” | Tuesday, Sept. 17
  • “Zoolander” | Tuesday, Sept. 24
  • “Final Destination” | Tuesday, Oct. 1
  • “Ghostbusters” | Tuesday, Oct. 8
  • “I Know What You Did Last Summer” | Tuesday, Oct. 15
  • “The Addams Family” | Tuesday, Oct. 22
  • “Hocus Pocus” | Tuesday, Oct. 29